Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Baked (Hard Boiled) Eggs

Why yes I do have a Pinterest account, All Unwound!  It’s a wonderful tool for keeping track of cool things you see on the Internet.  It works like a French Memo Board, I’ve explained this in Pinterest The Basics.  To see my Pinterest Boards click on All Unwound in the first sentence or on the “Follow Me on Pinterest” button on the right sidebar of this blog.

In addition to keeping track of cool Internet items, Pinterest itself can be a source of things to pin.  Just log in and click on Everything (it’s at the top center of the navigation bar) and you can see what everyone on Pinterest has pinned recently.  If I’m on  late at night I find myself gravitating toward food pins.  Yes I do have thousands of recipes in my home that I’ve yet to try.  BUT the easiest tastiest simplest recipe might be waiting for me on Pinterest.  AND it might involve hardly any clean up!

Eggs large side down in a mini muffin pan. Ready to be baked!

This week I decided to try baking “hard boiled” eggs in the oven.  I simply preheated my oven to 350 degrees  and took 6 eggs and placed them large side down in my mini muffin pan.  Then I put them in the preheated oven and set the timer for 25 minutes.  How hard is that?

After baking them I put them into a bowl of ice water, to stop the cooking process.  Use oven mitts to do this!! The “normal” way of boiling hard boiled eggs leaves me with one pot to wash.  This baking of hard boiled eggs left me with a bowl that I ended up storing the leftover eggs in in the fridge.  And one mini muffin pan to wash.  So clean up is the same. I did find the process easier than boiling eggs on the stove top.  I didn’t have to stay in the kitchen to watch the pot boil! ;)

Baked eggs cooling in ice water.

This recipe scores points on the EASY and SIMPLE criteria.  Pop some eggs into a mini muffin pan and go take a shower.  When you’re done breakfast will be ready!  I also see this as a great recipe for people who like to do most of their cooking on the weekends.  It’s a quick and easy way to boil as many eggs as you’d like.  Remember hard boiled eggs only last one week in the refrigerator.

NEGATIVE is the scorching on the inner shells and the eggs themselves are misshapen.  The eggs just aren’t as pretty.  So if you are a perfectionist you wouldn’t want to use this method for eggs you plan on making into deviled eggs.  Next time I make these I’ll lower the oven temperature to 325 and see if they still scorch and get misshapen.

The eggs got dimples and some scorch marks!

One of the really cool things about Pinterest is that it credits the idea back to the source.  You just click on the pin to return to the source.  This particular pin came from the blog The Burlap Bag.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, Household Tips, How to, Recipe, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Baked (Hard Boiled) Eggs

  1. Interesting. I’ve never heard of this method.

    Etsy Blog Team

  2. katrina says:

    I came across this same thing on pinterest and wondered if it worked! Glad to come across this where you tried it out. The scorch marks would concern me a bit, do they taste ‘burnt’ at all? I may have to test it out and do some egg salad this weekend!

  3. Sher says:

    I have found a couple of cool things there but I’ve actually not logged in for weeks. I did get some good recipes and craft tutorials from there.

Leave a Reply

