Fulling Update!

My tote bag is complete and I have fulled it. The pattern I used said it would be 8 inches by 8 inches and be, “a great tote to take to the beach.” That odd comment should have been a clue about the real size!! I did use a different yarn than they suggested, but my gauge was correct. The knitted tote was HUGE. Now felted and drying it is 12.5 high by 13 inches wide. Maybe the size listed in the pattern is a typo. No matter, it was just a jumping off point for designing my own bag. I made a few changes to this pattern, but they wouldn’t have altered the size of it. Now that it’s done I’m ready to embellish it and create my own pattern for future felted totes.

I used Patons Classic Wool yarn because I already owned it and wanted to use it up. Turns out it’s a PERFECT yarn for felting. Everyone on the Internet says so. đŸ˜‰ Well it’s true. Felted up perfectly. Prior to felting you can see that I used two different yarns a Marl and “New Denim.” After felting it’s hard to see that. It’s as if the colors blur during the felting process.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Creating patterns, Felting, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

