Journey of Self Discovery through Keyhole Scarves

Keyhole scarf showing it's ends!

Do we discover ourselves as we journey through life or create ourselves?

I realized today that while I am a very consistent even knitter the cast on end of my scarves and the next few inches are always a bit wider than the rest of the scarf.  This comes as a suprise…because well my knitting is SO even when I do a sweater or a wash cloth or a purse.  Maybe scarves are this way for everyone?

Making my own patterns involves a lot of “trial and error” that’s why the first item I knit in a created pattern is frequently field tested by me.  I don’t sell or gift the really quirky items.  I just revise the pattern till the annoying quirks are gone.

So I knit too far and had to rip out a few rows…while it was wrapped around me.  Using a mirror to judge the length, while unknit yarn wrapped around my body.  I almost stabbed myself with a knitting needle.  Part of the problem is that I’m knitting from both ends of a ball of yarn!  Of course I didn’t have a camera or a free hand to document this. 

Now I’m trying to decide if I want to rip it back further and move the keyhole so that I can make the whole thing longer.  A quick internet search and I find my Keyhole Scarf is already longer than most available.  Huh.  Maybe my neck is larger than everyone else’s?  Or I prefer a slightly longer scarf that tucks nicely under my coat.  Or everyone else is making Neckwarmers and calling them Keyhole Scarves!

As soon as I bind off and weave in the ends I’ll start knitting another one for my shop, AllUnwound.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Creating patterns, Knitting, My Thoughts on Life, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

