Mobius Scarf Pattern Creation

Finished Scarf Wrapped around a Basket Head

I have seen a few Mobius or continuous scarves and decided I’d like to knit one.  Of course I wanted to create my own pattern and thought looking at other people’s patterns or videos first would be “cheating.”

So I happily did the math and figured out how many stitches to cast onto my circular needles.  Then I knit away in my desired pattern, finding it annoyingly twisty.

Once I cast off and had family members try it on I realized that I’d added an extra twist.  That made the knitting harder and the scarf much smaller around the neck.  If I had planned on an extra twist I would have cast on more stitches.

Ah well, I like the basic pattern I created and think the circumference will be just right once the extra twist is taken out.  I guess the pain of ripping it out and then untangling the twisted ball of yarn makes this truly my own pattern.  Of course I have already started finished with the knitting of the corrected scarf.

Took some time out and checked out some Möbius patterns online.  They are totally different from the way I came up with my scarf.  I don’t know if I should be proud of my pattern creation skills or very afraid of my twisted scarf.  It seems my pattern cannot create a true Möbius if one is ideologically mathematically pure, but I am looking forward to knitting another one!  For more photos of this scarf check out my Etsy site,  All Unwound.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Creating patterns, Knitting, Scarf, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

