What I’m Reading

I was out in public knitting bags for felting and selling in my Etsy shop.  Since the character Peri knits bags felts them and sells them; a lady though I had to read this book.  So she lent me “The Friday Night Knitting Club.”  I enjoyed it but really had a hard time with the fate of the main character.  I won’t comment further in case you’d like to read it.

Book two in the Friday Night Knitting Club series

Now I’m reading the sequel “Knit Two,” and simply enjoying watching all of the characters figure out where their lives are headed.  The fact that the 40 year olds don’t know where their lives are headed anymore than the 18 year old is interesting.  It strikes me as a truth that doesn’t get talked about much.  Probably because at both ages there are people who know exactly where they want to go and what they want to do.  These people are held up as the ideal.  Yet I wonder if they really have an ideal life once they get to middle age and have everything they thought they wanted.  I bet only the ones that really knew who they were at 18 are happy with their choices.  The book really points out how important it is to know who you are and not make decisions based on who someone else thinks you are.  An important lesson to learn at any age.

Knitting seems to be a very minor character in the sequel.  That’s fine by me since I’ve been knitting up a storm in the real world.  I’ll show you what’s on my needles in a future post.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Books I'm Reading, Knitting, My Thoughts on Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

