Ribbing and Regrets

Fingerless Gloves have a certain innate coolness.  I’m knitting another pair, love them.   This pair is knit in a steel blue yarn that has slubs of orange and white in it.

Love the yarn. Hate the ribbing.

Unfortunately I will be frogging them.  What I mean is that I will rip them out.  Rip it, rip it, rip it gives you the term “Frog” or “Frogging.”  Why?  Because the ribbing really needs to be knit with  smaller sized needles than the body of the gloves.

When we knit one by one ribbing we are moving the yarn from front to back with each stitch and that creates a tremendous amount of extra bulk.  Even if the yarn itself isn’t  bulky weight.  The stockinet stitch is knit with the same exact needles but is smooth and even, not bulky.

Sometimes the extra bulk is a nice design element.  Not with this yarn.

I just love how this yarn knits up and I know the Fingerless Gloves will be FAB if I rip it rip it rip it and reknit them.  I may even add a cable to the plain stockinet stitch.  Everyone loves cables! I plan to list the finished Fingerless Gloves in my Etsy shop; All Unwound.

Here they are, reknit with a cable up the back of the hand.  They match the Classic Cabled Cowl and would look FAB worn together.

Much smoother ribbing!
Fingerless Glove in action!
About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in All Unwound ETSY store, Creating patterns, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

