On My Knitting Needles; An Olive Green Button Scarf

Olive Button Scarf takes shape on my knitting needles

I am currently knitting an olive green Button Scarf.  It’s knit out of a chunky wool blend that’s a bit fuzzy.  The fuzz can get in the way during the knitting process.

KNIT TIP: If you are a new knitter I recommend sticking with yarn that is smooth and doesn’t split easily.  That way you’ll have fewer pulls and half dropped stitches.  As your knitting skills improve you’ll find  fuzz and splitting yarn less aggravating.

A button scarf is shorter than a standard scarf.  It wraps around your neck one time and then is fastened with a button.  The button can be fastened through a knit in button hole, or if the stitches are large enough it can simply slide in between stitches.  I prefer the second option.  It means that the button can be slipped through the scarf in any location, which gives you a more versatile scarf.

A Button Scarf is a scarf that will stay wrapped around your neck no matter how fiercely the Winter winds howl or how active you are in Winter sports.  If you’d like to see how this scarf looks when completed check out the maroon Button Scarf already listed in my Etsy shop.  This olive Button Scarf will be listed once it’s completed.

Happy Labor Day!  Hope you’re doing something you find relaxing.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in All Unwound ETSY store, Knit Tip, Knitting, On My Knitting Needles, Scarf, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On My Knitting Needles; An Olive Green Button Scarf

  1. Katie Oskin says:

    Looks nice & comfy…and I really like the color! I’m part of the blog team too: visit our blog here:
    katersacres.blogspot.com

  2. All Unwound says:

    Thanks for the feedback. Olive green is a great color to use as a neutral color for scarves and gloves. I hope to finish the scarf today and post it on my Etsy site this week.

  3. Heather says:

    I love the color you chose for this scarf! It’s going to be awesome.

  4. I love the chunky look!

    I’m always thinking of trying knitting again, if I do it this year I’ll keep your tip in mind!

  5. It sounds great!
    And I love the colour!

  6. All Unwound says:

    Thanks One Perfect. I am very happy with how it turned out. It’s posted in my Etsy shop now.
    http://www.etsy.com/listing/81229309/button-scarf-neckwarmer-cowl-ribbed-in
    Feel free to look there for the finished photos.

Leave a Reply

