Spiced Pasta Salad a Pantry Recipe

Spiced Pasta Salad from My Pantry

In a previous post I said that I had many “Recipes in Waiting.” Sure I like going to the grocery store and getting the ingredients to try them. But not all the time. Sometimes I prefer to use ingredients I already have. I call these recipes “Pantry Recipes” because I can easily store all the ingredients and be ready to make them at any time. This is a rare example of convenience without expense!

Earlier this month I realized I needed another side dish and had run out of frozen veggies. So I made up this pasta salad. It uses canned goods and dried pasta. I use Dreamfields Pasta to reduce the number of carbohydrates in this dish. You may use regular pasta if you wish. If you’re watching your salt intake reduce the amount of garlic salt used and add in garlic powder.

INGREDIENTS

1 box (13.25 oz) of Dreamfields rotini pasta (spiral pasta) cooked and drained well.
7 ounces of chick peas (also called garbanzo beans) rinsed and drained with skins removed
1/2 to 1 full can of tomatoes with green chiles (my family prefers the spicy taste of a full can)
1/4 cup of olive oil
1/2 tsp of ground black pepper
1 and 1/2 teaspoons of garlic salt

DIRECTIONS

Cook pasta in boiling water as the manufacturer directs and then rinse with cold water and drain well. In a large bowl mix the rotini with the chick peas, tomatoes and about half the liquid in the can, olive oil, pepper and garlic salt. Stir well. Cover and refrigerate until serving. Stir well before serving. The longer this marinates the better it tastes.  Once served promptly refrigerate all leftovers.

Enjoy!

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, How to, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spiced Pasta Salad a Pantry Recipe

  1. stelabird says:

    That looks so yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

  2. Sher says:

    That looks delicious! It’s always good to use up what you already have. No reason to waste food. I suppose that’s easier to do if you don’t have a large family. There are only two of us now so that works well for us.

  3. All Unwound says:

    Thanks! Let me know how you like it if you try it. I’ve decided to keep the ingredients for Spiced Pasta Salad in the pantry all the time.

  4. Memories for Life Scrapbooks says:

    Yum! I bet I have all of these ingredients in my cupboards right now!

  5. It sounds great!
    And it’s always good to have that back-up pantry recipe….

  6. Connie says:

    I love pantry recipes…thanks for sharing!

  7. All Unwound says:

    Yes “Pantry Recipes” are a very good thing, and I will post more in the future.

Leave a Reply

