Felted Slippers for Fall

The beginning of my felted slippers. They are large {see ruler at the top} and unshaped.

Felted slippers are on my mind as the weather starts to get a bit cooler. Many years ago when I took a knitting class one of the first projects was slippers. I guess it helped us practice stockinet stitch and garter stitch and seaming. Now that I’m thinking of making felted slippers I’m wondering if I kept that pattern. Or if there even was a written pattern. I simply don’t remember.

Those slippers are really rather ugly since they were knit with very cheap artificial yarn, which is what the instructor told us to buy. I’m also not fond of the stitch pattern either.  I think it may have been a standard pattern made and worn by generations of beginning American knitters.  Of course felting will usually make stitch patterns invisible, so this may not be an issue.

I searched the Internet and found several very nice patterns for felted slippers and clogs. All of them are copyrighted and prohibit the knitter from making and selling them. So I’ve decided to create my own pattern for hand knit felted slippers. I will knit up a much larger pair of slippers using the completed hand knit slippers as a guide. Why “much larger?” Well because felting reduces the size of what is knit by about 30% at least with my favorite felting yarn.

Once the slippers are felted the type of stitch used should be invisible. So I plan on knitting every stitch, unlike the ancient slippers I’m using as a guide. Of course they used ribbing to shape or gather the front of the slippers.  I’d won’t be using ribbing, so I’ll have to give the shaping some thought. My other concern is seaming. I don’t want the seams or the ends that I weave in to leave lumps and bumps in the slippers.  I’d also like a really cushioned sole, so I may knit a second layer for the bottom and sew that on, or design my pattern around that idea. But I’ll probably save that issue for the second pair of slippers I knit.

Because I enjoy knitting and spinning more than mopping floors these slippers will be knit in a darker color that hides dirt well.   And of course felted items can always be hand washed.  🙂

KNIT TIP: Each and every yarn behaves differently and sometimes different colors of the same commercial yarn will felt differently. So if you choose to knit something and then felt it, you’ll need to knit a gauge swatch in the chosen stitch and after measuring it very carefully, felt it. Then measure again to figure out how that particular yarn felts.

Don’t forget to stop by AllUnwound’s Facebook page and become a FAN.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Creating patterns, Felting, Knit Tip, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Felted Slippers for Fall

  1. Jayne Karol says:

    Wow, I get so fascinated and envious over people when they can make their own patterns! lol Well, I am getting started with the whole pattern thing so yes – I am very intrigued and I love the tips you throw in your blog. I might have to get into knitting here shortly lol.

  2. Kelly Quinn says:

    Perfect time of year for making slippers! Weather is getting cooler and I might just have to give this a try. 😉

    New from EBT!

  3. All Unwound says:

    Thanks! Creating my own patterns is both fun and a big yarn waster; depending on how the pattern turns out. And once something is felted you can’t just rip out the yarn and knit it again. So I’m hoping for good results the first time around with these slippers.

  4. Fabric Fascination says:

    I love felted items and even took up knitting so that I could make some. I have several projects in the works, all (sadly) unfinished. Can’t wait to see your finished slippers.

  5. All Unwound says:

    Thanks, Fabric Fascination, I’ll post an update soon!

Leave a Reply

