What I’m Reading in October

Yes that is a hand knit felted bookmark peeking out of Decked with Folly!

My lovely SIL gave me two books in a series this past summer.  They have nothing to do with knitting or spinning or scrapbooking.  They are part of the “Pennyfoot Hotel Mystery” series, the holiday collection.  They are a light easy read, perfect for a bit of diversion before the holiday season hits.  Yes it will be Halloween before we know it.

This series is set at a hotel along the English coast in the early 1900s.  I’ve found the differences between then and now to be very interesting.  Love my dishwasher!  I also enjoying traveling at dangerous speeds in my car, over 20 miles per hour.  🙂  Life would be very different without all of the modern tools we use.

These books are murder mysteries with a female sleuth; her friends, family and employees try to help or hinder her attempts at sleuthing.  Either to protect her or to keep secrets from becoming public.  Of course those keeping secrets for personal reasons divert her from the real villain in the story.  Sometimes with dangerous results.

These books are set during the Christmas Season, but the two I’ve read are not overtly religious, so they are appropriate for readers of any religion.  Why not take a little break for yourself before the hectic Fall holiday season begins?

The author of the series is Kate Kingsbury and you can find out more about her, her pseudonyms and her writing at her website.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Books I'm Reading, My Thoughts on Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I’m Reading in October

  1. Sher says:

    Looks like some books. I was never a big reader of fiction but now that I have my e-reader, I do enjoy it. I love stories of long ago and especially during the Christmas season. Remember Little Women?

  2. Sher says:

    Oops! That would be “good books”

  3. All Unwound says:

    Sher — I’m glad your e-reader has gotten you to read more fiction. I think now is the perfect time for a bit of light distracting reading. Soon we will be swept up in all of the Fall Holiday preparations.

    • Sher says:

      It’s also a good way to distract me when I’m being tortured on the elliptical for that 40 minutes!

      Hey! I’m glad you like the pumpkin butter. When my kids were little I worked part time at a local apple orchard for a couple summers and that’s where I got my first taste of pumpkin butter. I was hooked from that moment on. Then after it closed for the season I was having withdrawls until I came across this recipe somewhere. You should really try it on homemade cinnamon rolls. Unbelievable goodness!

  4. Sandy says:

    I am a big murder mystery reader and if there’s a craft involved I’m even more happy. These look very interesting. I’ll give Kate Kingsbury a try. I’m always on the look out for a new series.

Leave a Reply

