Zucchini Parmesan

Zucchini Parmesan being cooked

This is a quick easy vegetable side dish. Zucchini are the green squash that you see in the grocery store near the yellow squash. I use one package of zucchini or 4 medium zucchini’s depending on how the grocery store is set up. I’ve noticed more stores going to the prepackaged veggies, maybe they sell more veggies this way, but it seems like a waste of plastic packaging.

INGREDIENTS

1 Tablespoon of olive oil
3 cloves of garlic
4 medium zucchinis sliced about 1/4 inch thick
1 can of diced tomatoes, Italian style undrained
OR 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 teaspoon of oregano
1 tsp of salt
1/4 teaspoon of pepper
1/4 CUP of grated Parmesan cheese

Zucchini being sliced for Zucchini Parmesan

DIRECTIONS

Slice the Zucchini about 1/4 inch thick, as shown in photo.  Put olive oil in a 12 inch pan. Cook garlic for 2 minutes on medium heat. Add Zucchini and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

Stir in the undrained can of diced tomatoes (oregano if needed) and the salt and pepper. Simmer uncovered for 10 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed stirring occasionally.

Stir well and then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and serve warm.  Enjoy!

Once served promptly refrigerate all leftovers.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, Household Tips, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Zucchini Parmesan

  1. This looks amazing! I can’t wait to try it! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Emreen says:

    wow… I love zucchini… and this looks soo easy to make… !!

  3. All Unwound says:

    Yes this is an easy dish to make and a favorite of mine. If you try it let me know how you like it.

  4. Memories for Life Scrapbooks says:

    Yum…looks good!
    I usually buy whole fruits and veggies, but when I’m in a hurry, the prepackaged ones do come in handy 🙂

    • All Unwound says:

      These were whole veggies, but prepackaged 4 to a shrink wrapped styrofoam tray. That’s what I’m seeing more of in grocery stores. I don’t think I’ve ever seen pre sliced fresh zucchini.

  5. Kala says:

    I love zucchinis…yummy and so easy too:):)

  6. Sher says:

    This looks and sounds amazing! I’m going to give it a try. I love zucchini and enjoy trying different recipes.

  7. All Unwound says:

    Since you both love zucchini I think you’ll really like this dish. Let me know what you think of the recipe.

Leave a Reply

