Pinterest the Basics

Pinterest is similar to an online French Memo Board.  I have a set of French Memo Boards in my hallway to corral things that I need to keep track of.  On Pinterest Memo Boards each pinned item can be clicked on and it displays the website the image was taken from. Visit me on Pinterest All Unwound to see what I mean.

French Memo Board

It is a new and fast growing site; you can’t just sign up for it, an invitation is required.  You can request one from Pinterest, but you’ll get set up quicker if a friend can invite you.  So ask around!  When you sign up Pinterest will ask you a few questions and automatically assign you to follow people with similar interests, and the friend that invited you.  If you know of other friends on the site you can search them out by name.  Once you’ve found their page click on “Follow All” under their name to follow all of their pins.  Or you can just Follow one or two of their memo boards by clicking “Follow” under those boards.

As a member you’ll be able to set up different Memo Boards on your page.  I have “Household Tips,” where I pin ideas for quicker painting or cleaning.  I also have a board for “Pigs,” because they are an interest of mine.  So the site is a mixture of practical and all out fun! As you cruise the site you can “Pin” items to your memo board and comment on them or simply “Favorite” them.

Jalepeno Poppers right out of the oven

Don’t skip the sign up step of installing a bookmarklet onto your web browser’s toolbar.  That’s what will allow you to pin cool blog posts or images you find anywhere on the web.  Popular pins are recipes, hairstyles and crafts.  My “Recipes to Try” board currently has 34 pins.  Jalepeno Poppers is the only one I’ve tried so far.  If you missed this step sign into Pinterest and go to the Goodies Page.  Follow their step by step instructions to add “Pin It” to your browser’s toolbar.  Then when you see something on the Internet you’d like to pin you just click on the “Pin It” icon on your toolbar.

To see what I thought of these and to find the recipe, click the photo. You'll go to All Unwound's "Recipes to Try" board on Pinterest.

When you click on a pinned photo it takes you to the web site the photo is from.  Sometimes it takes several clicks and sometimes the original owner isn’t listed.  So be careful about using Pinterest photos for your blog or business, they may be copyrighted.  I took my own photos of the Jalepeno Poppers I made.

If you’d like to add a “Pin It” button to your web page or blog post  Pinterest Goodies  will walk you through the process.  It apparently works better on some blog platforms than others.  But Pinterest is new and has some hiccups so that may be a temporary issue.  I put a “Pin It” button on November’s On My Needles post.  At this time it doesn’t show the cool “Pin It” icon.  Maybe by the end of the week it will.  Click the “Pin It” and you’ll be able to pin that blog post so you can go back to it at any time.  You must be a member of Pinterest and be logged in for this to work.

Like any online social site Pinterest can be used for networking, but that’s not it’s sole purpose.  In fact the Pin Etiquette section asks that members limit self promotion.  It’s really not hard to do since there are so many wonderful photos by others to pin.  Of course there is a profile section for your Pinterest account and you can fill that out and include your website and blog.

Now that you know the basics of Pinterst, go have some fun!

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Blogging, How to, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pinterest the Basics

  1. Memories for Life Scrapbooks says:

    I’ve been hearing so much about Pinterest lately and want to join so badly. But I know I will get sucked into spending more time on the Internet than I already do!
    Maybe this will be a new year’s gift to myself…I’ll join then 🙂 After this crazy holiday rush is over!

    Great review of the site and helpful tips…thank you 🙂

    • All Unwound says:

      Your welcome. I think it be a great resource for people that remember things visually. I know I have a traditional “bookmark” of one of the pins, because I recognized the photo. I have no idea of what folder I put that bookmark into. LOL

  2. Sandy says:

    I love Pinterest! It is a lot easier to use than StumbleUpon. I have so many recipes I want to try just because the photos make me drool! I think I gained 10 lbs too..LOL!

  3. I requested an invite of… 5 months ago. Never heard back. I’m thinking I need to get chummy with someone already on there. lol

Leave a Reply

