Laundry Room Decor

Have you ever thought about decorating your laundry room? It is the smallest room in the house but I swear that I spend most of my time in there.  In our previous home I had a very large laundry room. I still miss it. It was off white and decorated with my children’s art.

I thought about painting this room white. Then I realized that the room was tiny and had two large white doors, both with white molding around them.  A white laundry tub dominates one corner, across from my white washer and dryer.  In some laundry rooms cabinets break up the wall color.  I have a metal wire shelf, in white.  So white isn’t an option.

I could install non white cabinets, or paint the washer and dryer a color.  Cabinets aren’t a quick fix, or inexpensive.  As soon as I do something drastic like painting the washer and dryer I expect the appliance to break.

So I’m thinking about painting one or more walls a vibrant color and adding some vinyl wall decals.  I’ve found some very nice vinyl wall decals on Etsy.

From it waddle shop on Etsy

This first decal really says it like it is.  The second one makes me think that family members may eventually start doing their own laundry and need this reminder.  That’s exciting!

From circlelinestudio on Etsy

This third decal is just plain fun. I’d call these clothes pins “retro” because they remind me of the time before plastic clothes pins.

From HouseHoldWords shop on Etsy

If you’d like to see a few more ideas I’ve collected for my Laundry room you can see them on All Unwound’s Pinterest board “Laundry Room.”  Just click anywhere on the board to see more photos than the few showing. To check out the shops I’ve highlighted, click on each photo to be taken to their shop.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Decorating and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Laundry Room Decor

  1. Tisha says:

    I have a primitive metal sign that says “Laundry 5cents” and an old washboard hanging on the wall. I love the clothes pins.

  2. Love the decals – especially the first one. I was just complaining about laundry yesterday lol. I could just point to that decal to get my point across and save the family from more whining. : )

  3. aquariann says:

    Fun decals! I painted my laundry room with a golden yellow that I bought leftover from Habitat for Humanity for $1.

  4. Patricia says:

    Love the “check your pockets” decal ~ I keep a piggy bank on top of the washer to collect all the loose change!
    My daughter added decals in her laundry room ~ a fun flower look for her daughters:
    http://sweetmagnoliaway.blogspot.com/2011/07/five-minute-makeover.html

  5. Memories for Life Scrapbooks says:

    I like the idea of painting a fun color and adding the decals! All of the walls in our house are white…and I’m SO ready for something new!

    • All Unwound says:

      Our walls are tan which I like but I need to figure out what vibrant color will go with that. When you stand in the laundry room you can see the walls in the hall and kitchen.

  6. Connie Jones says:

    I like “Check your pockets”! Maybe it would help me actually remember 🙂
    My sister painted her laundry room a deep, vibrant red. It looks really good in that small room, really brings in some energy.

  7. Fabric Fascination says:

    Love the clothespins especially.

    Actually, yes, I did decorate my laundry room. Believe it or not, I painted a beach scene, sand and sea, and then put paint on my three granddaughters feet, lifted them up (they were smaller then) and stamped their feet walking along the shoreline. I am not a painter, but this was easier than it sounds.

Leave a Reply

