Magnetic Boards Tutorial

I don’t know where all the socks go.  Yes, I’ve looked behind the washer and dryer and they weren’t there!  I always have a pile of socks without mates. So this project is perfect for my Laundry Room Redo!  Check out Laundry Room Before to see what I started with.  Last week’s post, Laundry Room During shows the changes I’ve made so far.  See Laundry Room Decor for other decorative ideas.

I went to the dollar store and bought two cookie sheets.  If you do this project, check to be sure they’re made of steel.  Aluminum won’t work, it’s not magnetic.

2 Steel Cookie Sheets Turned Upside Down

I already had 4 black binder clips at home.  I clipped two of these to the side of each cookie sheet.  I folded the inner clip flat to the sheet so that the board will be flush against the wall.  If you have a decorating theme you can switch out these plain black clips for colored or patterned ones that match.  How cute would that be!

Binder Clips clipped to cookie sheet

For less than 2 dollars I bought a large package of clothes pins.  Then I glued magnets I already owned to the back of them.  Although my magnets had adhesive on the back I’ve had them for so long that I used a glue gun to be sure they would stick.   I precut the magnets and applied the hot glue to the clothespin.  TIPS: Remember the glue gun tip is hot be careful, and don’t forget to unplug it as soon as you are done!  Remember that one side of the magnet is highly magnetic, this is the side you want to put on the board.  So glue the less magnetic side to the clothespin.  Don’t forget to let the glue harden before trying to use them.

Clothespins Magnet Side Up

Of course you could use magnetic clips, such as bulldog clips and skip that last step.  I’m using the clothespins as part of my laundry room decoration.  Notice that I’m using the back of the cookie sheet as my right side, but either side would work.

The last step is threading rope or ribbon through the binder clips and hanging them from that.  Using laundry line would be cute, but so would ribbon that matches your decor.

Wayward Socks Clipped Up Out of the Way!

Presto!  Two magnetic boards for my wayward socks.  My cost is less than $4.00 and being able to contain wayward socks is well worth it.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Decorating, Household Tips, How to and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Magnetic Boards Tutorial

  1. Nichole says:

    cool! I lose items too, so this could come in handy.

  2. Sher says:

    This is a great idea. You can buy those super big cookie sheets too.

  3. Mary says:

    This is such a good idea. In the laundry room in my building there is a bulletin board for announcements, but everyone just tacks lost socks up there. 🙂

  4. All Unwound says:

    Using clothespins keeps the holes out of the socks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

