New Years Resolutions or Changing our Habits

Lace up your Sneakers and Get Moving!

Last week I saw “Ghost Protocol,” the new Mission Impossible movie.  The movie had a tremendous number of scenes showing hand-to-hand combat.  Special Agents take classes in hand-to-hand combat and train until their responses are automatic.  No thinking is involved.

Habits are a bit like that.  A habit is how we automatically respond to a certain situation.  Habits are hard to change because we respond without thinking.  To change a habit we need to stop, think and choose a different way of doing things.  That takes a lot of effort.  This is the time of year when most people are making New Years Resolutions and those resolutions usually involve changing habits.

According to a series my local paper ran on obesity, most Americans are training themselves to eat out once a day, and sit on the couch watching TV and eating junk food.  That means extra calories and a lack of exercise. Here are some scary facts about obesity from the US Centers For Disease Control.  I’d rather be a Special Agent instead of a Couch Potato! Wouldn’t you?

Many people set such high standards that they can’t achieve them unless they stop living and only focus on those New Years Resolutions.  That leads to failure.  This year I am going to try to make healthier choices in my eating and exercise routine.  I’m simply going to stop, think and ask myself if I am making the healthiest choice I can, taking into consideration  all of the other demands I have on my time.

This approach won’t turn me into a Special Agent, but it should keep me from becoming a Couch Potato and that’s a good first step.   Have you made any New Years Resolutions?

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, My Thoughts on Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Years Resolutions or Changing our Habits

  1. Memories for Life Scrapbooks says:

    I don’t typically make resolutions, but I do set goals for myself each year.
    Getting back into exercising is definitely on the personal goal list! I used to run 3-4 miles everyday. And as you said, once I got out of the habit, it was hard to get back into it. I don’t just want to make this change in my life…I need to 🙂

  2. Kala says:

    Me too…I am going to make an effort at conscious eating and exercising:):)

  3. Fabric Fascination says:

    Very well thought out. This approach seems to be very wise, rather than setting yourself up for failure as resolutions tend to do.

  4. stelabird says:

    Good luck on your diet! You can do it!
    Last year my husband and I stopped eating fast food and switched to a vegetarian diet and I lost 15 pounds.

    • All Unwound says:

      Stela, I’m not doing a diet (yet!) , just trying to make healthy eating choices instead of eating on autopilot. It’s tough because we keep such a hectic schedule and what’s quick and easy isn’t always healthy. 🙂

      Congrats on your weight loss!

Leave a Reply

