What I’m Reading in January

The first book in the series, "The Quick and the Thread."

My lovely SIL gave me more books!  The first three in a series I’ve never read.  The main character, Marcy,  owns an embroidery shop that also sells yarn.  The series is called, “An Embroidery Mystery. ” They are the perfect books for a Winter’s day.  Settle in on the couch with a cup of tea and enjoy these cozy books!  Yes these books belong to the Mystery Cozy Genre.

The series is set in a small town on the Oregon coast.  The main character, Marcy, quits her dull corporate job in California and moves away from her friends and family to make a new start in life.

Of course she’s not completely alone in town!  Her college roommate, Sadie, has a thriving coffee shop in the picturesque downtown.  Sadie does all the legwork on finding a quaint shop and home for Marcy, but overlooks a few important details.

These books are a very quick read and quite enjoyable.  Why not make some time for yourself this year and check out this series?  I’d prefer more focus on yarns and knitting, but what can you expect from an embroidery shop?  At least they carry yarn.

The author of the series is Amanda Lee, a pseudonym for Gayle Trent, and you can find out more about her, and her other book series at her website.  I did notice that Penguin Group is the copyright holder, so I wonder if other authors will contribute to this series.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Books I'm Reading, My Thoughts on Life, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What I’m Reading in January

  1. Edi says:

    What a fun mix…crafting and mystery 🙂 Have fun reading!

  2. Gayle Trent says:

    Thank you so much for the praise for my series! I truly appreciate your encouragement.

    • All Unwound says:

      You’re welcome. I am waiting for book 4 to be published and am looking forward to reading it. Will there be more about knitting in future books?

      Thanks for posting to my blog!

      • Gayle Trent says:

        Book four–The Long Stitch Goodnight–will be out April 3. I’d love for there to be more knitting in future books, but I don’t know if the editor would allow it. Are you familiar with Maggie Sefton’s knitting mysteries?

      • All Unwound says:

        The Seven Year Stitch does carry yarn, so knitting wouldn’t be a total surprise. As the series goes on I’m sure you’ll introduce us to new shop supplies and Marcy will offer new evening classes. Hopefully you are already working on book 5. I have read Maggie Sefton’s knitting series, and enjoy them.

  3. Rita says:

    Sounds really interesting. As I see, these books are exactly for you 🙂 I think it must be interesting to read about crafting 🙂 Does this inspires you? 🙂

  4. Ohhh good!!! I’m always looking for books to read!! it’s my favorite hobby 🙂

  5. Sandi Gill says:

    Thanks to your recommendation, I’m on book two, “Stitch Me Deadly.” IMHO, this series is one step up from most knitting/stitchery mysteries I’ve read. The characters are more three dimensional, and they get into interesting dilemnas. It’s not just “social problems,” but real life problems, e.g. identity theft and real estate fraud. Reminders of the real world.

Leave a Reply

