New Years Resolutions June Update

If I really get moving I’ll wear these out!

 

Back in my New Years Resolutions April Update I talked about my new pedometer and how I was going to use it to find a reasonable number of miles to walk.  Having a pedometer has really changed my thinking.  It’s all about steps now!  Earlier this week we went to the store so my husband could shoe shop and I spent that time walking in circles around the store to up my steps for the day.  LOL

If I start out the day in dress clothes without pockets and can’t wear my pedometer I complain about not having walked any steps that day!  Silly but having a pedometer does make me focus on my steps.

No pedometer is completely accurate, maybe I’m really walking 7,500 steps and it falsely records 9,000 steps.  What I get with a pedometer isn’t total accuracy.  That’s OK.  What  I do get is the ability to compare my steps day by day and see if I am walking more.  I view my pedometer as a tool to encourage me to pay attention to how much walking I’m doing and to encourage me to do more.

The pedometer I picked let me set a goal and I set it at 10,000 steps a day. Why that number?  I probably read about it somewhere.  Several organizations are encouraging walking that number of steps per day for health.

The Walking Site provides links to walking clubs, answers basic questions about walking, and even has information on how to stretch and warm up prior to walking.  http://www.thewalkingsite.com/10000steps.html

Shape Up America is a nonprofit founded by former US Surgeon General K. Everett Koop and offers tips and encourages a more active lifestyle.  They promote walking 10,000 steps a day.

This Public Broadcasting Site details how to safely work up to walking 10,000 steps.  Don’t jump right in and get an injury.  The point is to keep walking, not to start at the goal, get injured and give up!

Being sedentary, walking 1,000 to 3,000 steps a day, is linked with weight gain, cardiovascular problems, and diabetes.  All things I’d like to avoid.  Of course people that already have health problems have their ability to walk affected and that skews the results.  My long term goal is to avoid being sedentary and to maintain my ability to move and walk as I age.  Gosh that makes me sound ancient!

I’m meeting my January New Years Resolutions. I haven’t become a couch potato and I have tried to stop and think about the choices I’m making.  I’ve tried to make healthiest choice I can given the situation.  Now I’m ready to move forward in the second half of the year and greet 2013 in a healthier fitter state.

My pedometer!

These walking sites recommend keeping track of how many steps per day you walk for two weeks and then average them.  Then add 500 steps and make that your goal.  Of course I think the days I kept track are not really how I live! 🙂  I had a couple of unusually active days during that time period.  My average is 6,896 steps per day.

I am refining my goals into measurable goals for July of 2012.  I will walk an average of 7,000 steps per day over a week.  To keep track of this I’ll reset my pedometer goal tracker to 7,000 steps.  If I find that my lifestyle easily puts me at 7,000 steps a day I’ll raise my goal to 7,500.

I really don’t know how many servings of fruit and vegetables I eat each day.  So for the month of July I will eat a fruit or vegetable with lunch at least 5 days a week.  As a reminder I’ve put this into my daily calendar.

How are you doing with your New Years Resolutions?

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, My Thoughts on Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Years Resolutions June Update

  1. Good for you! I should get myself a pedometer. (And how can 2012 be halfways gone already??)

  2. Edi says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great! Making conscience decisions about your health is a step in the right direction 🙂
    I’ve started walking and jogging again and it feels great! I love getting outside again and doing something active!

Leave a Reply

