On My Knitting Needles; Baby Alpaca

mom and baby by petersbar
mom and baby, a photo by petersbar on Flickr.

Not a real baby Alpaca, just it’s yarn!!

This soft slightly fuzzy yarn is hand dyed in shades of blue and green. Not only are the colors hard to resist the softness of the yarn is amazing. Once you touch this yarn you’ll want to own something knit out of it. I’ve seen this yarn described as “pure luxury.”  Alpaca feels as soft, sometimes softer, than cashmere.  It’s warmer and stronger than regular wool and considered hypoallergenic.  For more details check out the Alpaca Owners and Breeders Association.

Baby Alpaca on my knitting needles!

I am knitting this Baby Alpaca yarn into a Slouch Hat.  If you wear your hair up in a clip you can wear this hat without taking down your hair. Or if you have long hair you can simply tuck it up inside the hat and go.  A fun style for a luxury yarn.  And check out the beautiful color combination!  Expect to see it soon in my shop, All Unwound.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Knitting, On My Knitting Needles, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On My Knitting Needles; Baby Alpaca

  1. Edi says:

    Awww…the alpacas look so cute 🙂
    And I love the colors in your new hat!

  2. Karen says:

    I have knitted a shrug in alpaca and I think it is the most amazing fibre I have worked with so far, it is so soft to the touch and so cozy and warm! So I can only imagine how wonderful this baby alpaca must feel. Love the colours!

Leave a Reply

