Creating New Scarf Patterns

Every time I buy a new yarn I need to take some time to work with it and find out it’s good points and it’s bad points.  Yarns are a bit like people.  No two yarns are exactly alike.  A yarn that is perfect for a scarf can be too delicate for a sweater.

alpaca merino scarf pattern

See how the different needle sizes and stitch patterns look? Yes pattern creation can be a bit messy!

This yarn is lovely and luxurious very soft and light.  It’s almost too airy for my taste, how I imaging knitting with spider webs would be, but it will be wonderfully comfortable next to someone’s face.  It’s a blend of Baby Alpaca and Merino wool.  And the color is natural, no dyes were used.

I tried 3 different sizes of knitting needles and 5 different knit stitches before settling on a needle size and a pattern for this yarn.  Since it is so soft and floaty, almost like spun down, it will become a scarf.

The different needle sizes and the different stitch patterns affect the width of the scarf, as well as the overall look.  Once I’ve decide on the stitch pattern and the needle size I adjust the number of stitches I cast on to create the width of scarf I want.  I personally prefer scarves that are under 6 inches in width.  Scarves that are wider than than seem more like a cowl gone wrong to me!

I hope this post gives you some insight into the many things that must be considered when creating knitting patterns.  Knitting my own patterns is exciting but there’s a lot of work that goes into a scarf before the first cast on.

Merino Baby Alpaca Scarf Knitting Creating Patterns

What a difference the correct needles and stitch pattern make!

The color variation in this scarf is natural, this is undyed yarn.  Amazing isn’t it?  If you like this scarf just keep checking my Etsy shop All Unwound because it will be listed there soon.  If you’d like a wider scarf, that’s personal preference and I’d be happy to knit you a wider scarf.  Just email me or convo me on Etsy to discuss the details.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Creating patterns, Knitting, Scarf, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creating New Scarf Patterns

  1. Love the natural look of the yarn! I’ve only started knitting last year, so concerning which needles to use I stick to what it says on the wool label 🙂 I can imagine how much work goes into creating a pattern!

  2. Edi says:

    It looks so soft even in the photos! It will be great for a scarf!

  3. Hi again!
    in answer to your question earlier…the squirrels I saw indeed had tufted ears and reddish brown fur, but there are also grey-brown ones with smooth ears living in this area 🙂 I love squirrels!

  4. It looks great!
    I love the colour too.

Leave a Reply

