Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part Two

Six Sisters Crock Pot Chicken n Broccoli Alfredo Pinterest

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo looking promising!

This is a promised update on the Slow Cooker Freezer Meals that I pinned to my Pinterest “Recipes to Try” Board.  Read “Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part One” if you’d like to start at the beginning.  I’ve made 4 of the meals.  Defrosting them for 24 hours in the fridge before cooking them lets them slide right out of the gallon size zip lock bags they were frozen in.  No hassle at all!

The French Dip Sandwiches were tasty. My children think they could use some spice and suggested Tabasco sauce. My husband suggested serving them with Horseradish sauce next time.  I think most families will enjoy this recipe as it is written.

The Maple Dijon Glazed Chicken Breasts were good, everyone in my family liked them. This recipe probably doesn’t have enough meat, at 1.5 lbs for the average American family of four. For bigger eaters or larger families more meat could easily be added since there was plenty of sauce.

The Chicken Broccoli Alfredo had a distinct broccoli taste.  That’s not a bad thing, just something I thought you’d want to know.  The sauce was watery, perhaps because of the frozen veggies.  One member of my family loves Chicken Alfredo but was very put off by the watery sauce.  Next time I make this dish I will add something to thicken the sauce.

Beef Stew Six Sisters Crock Pot Meal Pinterest AllUnwound

The color of the Beef Stew was a surprise!

The Beef Stew had very good flavor.  Everyone in the family enjoyed it.  I was initially concerned because it had a reddish tint.  Then I remembered that it has tomato sauce in it.  The color didn’t bother anyone in my family.  I will make this dish again without making any changes to it.

Sometimes batch cooking has recipes that must be made in a certain order, or a leftover item from one is used in the next recipe.  These recipes from Six Sisters all stand alone, and I like that.  Sure I can buy a 16 oz bag of frozen corn and split them between the two recipes that use corn, but if I don’t like one recipe I can simply buy an 8oz bag of corn next time and only make one recipe.  With the hectic lifestyles that we all lead flexibility is important!  Just remember it took me just under two hours to make all nine of these meals, so plan on it taking at least that long.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, Recipe, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part Two

  1. Edi Royer says:

    4 recipes in 2 hours sounds great. Cook for 2 hours and eat all week…great idea 🙂

  2. Sher says:

    Looks like great recipes! Nice that you are trying them. I love to try new recipes, I just wish I had more time. But LOVE my slow cooker. These look like ones we would like too.

Leave a Reply

