On My Knitting Needles; Custom Fingerless Gloves

Custom Fingerless Gloves by All Unwound

Custom fingerless gloves take shape!

I’ve been knitting a lot of custom items lately. I’m pleased to do it because the customer ends up with exactly what they’re looking for. Fingerless gloves are the custom item I’m knitting today.

As you can see I’m knitting with four needles.  Gloves are small enough that they have to be knit with double pointed needles.  So even though the gloves are knit in the round, circular needles have too large a circle to be used.

Knitting with multiple needles is fun and I often find people staring at my knitting when I’m knitting in public.  It is mesmerizing to watch the glove take shape.  These fingerless gloves are hand knit from a yarn that is a Merino Alpaca blend.  It is undyed.  The colors you see are made by blending the fibers from animals with different colored fiber.

Double pointed knitting needles All Unwound Fingerless Gloves

See all the needles!

I will be able to take on more custom items starting in January 2013.  If you’d like one of my hand knit items prior to that, check out my Etsy shop.  Most of the items listed are finished and ready to ship.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in All Unwound ETSY store, Knitting, On My Knitting Needles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On My Knitting Needles; Custom Fingerless Gloves

  1. Ayla says:

    That looks great! Whenever I crochet in public people are always asking me what I am making and staring.

  2. LeAnn says:

    Oh, my goodness! I am not coordinated enough to knit with just 2 needles!! Amazing.

  3. Sharon says:

    This time of year I’ve always got projects in my purse, too. That fiber is lovely!

  4. Paige says:

    Whoa! Those look so cool! I’m impressed at your mad skills. 🙂

  5. Oh you ARE a rare talent! I applaud you for taking custom orders (some artists don’t…it “comporomises their integrity”)…I do love the lovely grey you are working with – very pretty while still chic and urban. Thanks for showing us your progress!

Leave a Reply

