Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part Three

This is the second update on the Slow Cooker Freezer Meals that I pinned to my Pinterest “Recipes to Try” Board.  Read “Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part One” if you’d like to start at the beginning.    All of these meals, like the ones in “Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part Two,” defrosted in the fridge for 24 hours before I put them in the crock pot.  They slid right out of the gallon size zip lock bags they were frozen in.

Six Sisters Crock Pot Chicken

Chicken Lime Cilantro right after being put in my crock pot.

I had high expectations for the Cilantro Lime Chicken with Corn and Black Beans.  It used an entire bunch of Cilantro.

Unfortunately once frozen, defrosted and then cooked the taste was bland.  We added sour cream and spicy black bean dip to pump up the taste.

I have an easier tastier crock pot Mexican Chicken recipe that I’ll stick with.

The Black Bean Taco Soup was good and liked by a wide variety of people.  This meal has many servings!  Remember how it was way too much to fit into a gallon sized zip lock bag?  I served it the day company was traveling to my home and we didn’t know what time they would arrive.  Everyone liked this recipe as written and I’ll make it again.  Six Sisters suggests serving this with tortilla chips but I served it with cheese drop biscuits.

Six Sister Chicken Cacciatore

Chicken Cacciatore looking so pretty!

The Chicken Cacciatore smelled good while cooking.  Unfortunately the sauce was watery and the chicken seemed dry.  The vegetables I added to this were fresh, not frozen so I don’t know where the extra liquid came from.  I enjoyed the green peppers and zucchini in this recipe and I might try it again with something added to thicken the sauce.

The bottom line is that of the 7 Six Sisters recipes I made, four of them I would make again without changes.  They are the Black Bean Taco Soup, the French Dip Sandwiches, the Hearty Beef Stew, and the Maple Dijon glazed Chicken.  As you may remember I didn’t try their BBQ Spareribs recipe because I have my own recipe for that dish.  Having preprepared crock pot meals in my freezer has been a healthy time saver.

About All Unwound

Knitting, Felting, and Spinning are consuming all of my time! Please FAN All Unwound on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AllUnwound
This entry was posted in Diet, Finances and Money, How to, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pinterest Recipe Reviews; Slow Cooker Freezer Meals Part Three

  1. Betty says:

    this is great! We always read about recipes people find. They always say how good everything is. So sometimes I wonder if it is actually good or not. So thank you for your honest reviews! Very helpful!

  2. The chicken cacciatore looks really good. I bet if you could thicken it up it would be great. And the taco soup sounds good too!

  3. Duni says:

    I love cilantro! I still think this is a great meal, perhaps with the cilantro added later once it is cooked. The maple dijon glazed chicken sounds great!

Leave a Reply

